A Question for BBQ Restaurant Owners

Colin B.

TVWBB Member
I'm a Chef so I know how to cook. I own a restaurant but I'm working on opening a BBQ Restaurant. I'm going to keep it small with a small menu to start. I'm going to have counter service with quick food. The question I have is how do you hold/reheat ribs, butt, sausage and brisket for quick service in this style of restaurant. Any help would be fantastic.

Much depends on your cooking equipment and how you plan to cook what when. It varies among Q joints and also depends on how much your public will be able to see and subsequently what you're comfortable with. E.g., in many places in Texas the customer orders from the guy at the counter that's responsible for meats; the customer can see the meats and watch the guy prep the plate. That guys slices and sets the meat(s) and passes the plate to his colleague who plates the sides and passes the plate to the customer. Everything is exposed, like a cafeteria line.

In nearly all these places the brisket slabs are piled under heat lamps. While some of the places stagger brisket cooking most do not--even those with multiple pits. The pitman smokes (at one time) enough to stock the line. In a few places excess briskets are held in a warm smoker, many do not do that, all go to the line. Sausage and ribs are under heat lamps in this type of place, pork is usually pulled and in a steamtable next to the meat man (he serves it) and before the steamtable sides. The cold sides are in a coldtable next to the steamer. Turkey breast, if it is offered, is often held in a hotel in the steam table whole and sliced to order (as all the meats except PP are), but I have also seen it plastic-wrapped and held under lamps.