30" Slate Griddle -

Mike Jenkins

I recently purchased a 30" propane slate griddle about 2 month ago. I have been eyeballing it for several months and then had a pool party planned for my birthday and my wife and I decided to pull the trigger. I was going to purchase the natural gas version, but didn't have the gas line ran yet and didn't have time to get it ran before the party, so I thought I would just buy the propane version and then convert it later once I have time to install a gas line to the location. Well that time is now and surprise, just found out that Weber does not recommend converting them. I am pissed at myself but never even thought to look into this as I have seen conversion kits for other griddles and figured it wasn't a big deal. I have searched this forum regarding this and it sounds like the best thing to do is to get replacement manifold/valves. With that being said I have searched for it but having trouble locating one. Does anyone know if the manifold for the slate is used on other weber grills or is it a whole new manifold made specifically for the slate? I really do not want to keep replacing propane tanks. I have already gone through 1 tank and do not believe I have used it that much. Any help or guidance would be appreciated.

If you could find one in the wild with a NG hookup, you could use the SN off that to order a NG replacement from Weber. Just tell them yours tipped over and bent the snot out of the manifold and you want to buy a replacement.

If you're going to keep this one for a while, it might be worth it to get a second propane tank. Having a full one ready when needed makes things much easier.
I have six in various places, and not a gas grill in the mix right now! Patio heater, fryer ( waaaaay in the back of the garage) soon I hope to have the gas grill up and huffing along! The rest are backup!

I have 2 - 20lb tanks on hand at all times....My newer one has a gauge up near the valve that is fairly accurate.