27# of Turkey parts

Brett-EDH

TVWBB Hall of Fame
Bought two 18# birds and cooking 1.5 birds for Thanksgiving which is our contribution to dinner for 25+ people. Others are making sides and a ham and more.

For my remaining half bird, I deboned the breast and wrapped and froze that and wrapped and froze the leg, thigh, wing and the part that goes over the fence last, all for future dinner cooks.

So, into a 5% brine, 1825 ml apple cider and 800 ml water, fresh crushed garlic, bay leaves, black pepper and two sliced oranges, one in each 2-gallon ziplock bag. The bags are mostly even with turkey pieces.

This will all marry until tomorrow night and then I’ll rinse them off and air dry them in the fridge, exposed to firm up the skin. And on thanksgiving day, I’ll hit it all with my herb rub and some evoo and sneak a few pats of unsalted butter under the skin.

This is my first time using apple cider as my main brining liquid. I usually do orange pineapple concentrate into 5% salinity water with some herbs. I’m hoping this apple brine comes out good. I think it should from my reading over the last two weeks.

Cheers and a happy thanksgiving to all you here. Wishing you all wonderful times and new memories with people you love and enjoy being with. And for those you don’t like, well, that’s on them. And may these wars end quickly. We sure could use some peace on earth. I’ll stop right here.

1700633604591.jpeg

1700633618349.jpeg

1700633632483.jpeg

1700633646664.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator:
Bought two 18# birds and cooking 1.5 birds for Thanksgiving which is our contribution to dinner for 25+ people. Others are making sides and a ham and more.

For my remaining half bird, I deboned the breast and wrapped and froze that and wrapped and froze the leg, thigh, wing and the part that goes over the fence last, all for future dinner cooks.