Spares at high altitude, first try

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Today was my first cook with the new WSM. I've been using an off-set on and off for 10 years, and always got uneven results at best. We live at 7000' altitude which tended to make the off-set act like a big leaky barn...on Mars. I never could achieve high enough temps without really laying on the coals. Nothing ever turned out all that good. I never had the nerve to try any big cuts.

So today I fired up the WSM for spare ribs using the MM. I put in 30 lit coals and some mesquite over a half a ring of unlit coals, and opened all the vents. I used sand instead of water, and racked the ribs on top and the trimmings on the lower rack. After 30 minutes the temp (lid) was 180. At 45 minutes it was still 180. This concerned me, so I lit up another 20 coals. Meanwhile I removed the door and the temp went up to 200, but stayed there. I added the other 20 coals, and opened and closed the door over the next hour and a half nursing the temp up to 240-260. It didn't really settle on 240-250, my goal, until almost 3 hours into the burn. When it finally settled in, it became very steady, almost spooky. When it settled, two of the lower vents were at 30-50% and one was wide open. They stayed that way for the rest of the burn. The top vent was wide open, but there was a cork in one opening holding a temporary thermometer.

I'm pretty sure I can do a better job on the start at this altitude with a full can of coals, but I think it will always take close watching for a few hours, and opening the door will be necessary. Plenty of hot coals seems to be what will off-set the really obvious lack of oxygen. The same airtight feature that makes this cooker so great seems to starve the fire at first, where the air is thin.

Has anybody else had experiences with very high altitude and the WSM. There isn't much on this subject on the forum, and it definitely acts different up here.