Feedback Requested on First Baby Back Ribs Smoke

Chris OH

Hello all,

I'm Chris, and I'm new to the world of barbecuing, as I've had the 18" WSM less than a week now. This site has been invaluable so far to a novice like me, and I'd like to get some feedback on what went wrong with a couple hiccups I experienced during my first baby back rib smoke on New Year's Day. This was the second smoke I've done, as I started with the Basic Barbecued Chicken recipe (which went fine), and I followed the Basic Baby Back Ribs recipe to a tee (minus my own rub and sauce).

I'm in Cincinnati, and it was a very cold day (single digits) with approximately a nine MPH wind. Shortly after lunch, I hooked my Thermopro TP-08 probe thermometer to the smoker (only the smoker probe) and dumped a full Weber chimney of unlit Kingsford Blue into the charcoal bowl topped with half a chimney of lit coals. I used three chunks of apple and one chunk of hickory wood. Through approximately two hours, everything appeared fine; the temperatures ranged between ~230 and 250. About two hours in, however, the grate temperature started a continuous drop; once it got below 200 degrees, I went out and gave each leg a light kick in case the charcoal had ashed over and opened the vents to approximately half way (up from a third open as the recipe suggests). I had filled the water pan about 2/3rds full to start (thinking that would be enough), but I saw that it wasn't, as the pan seemed to be completely empty, so I refilled it. That combination of things seemed to help, as after about 30 minutes, I got back into the 225-230 range.