4 meats on one WSM 22.5

Jason Greer

I would like to try and do some Comps this up coming summer, using just one WSM 22.5 and a party q. Does anyone have a basic time guild on when to place each meat on and what part of the grill. Im new to bbqing. I would like to see someones break down sheet if possible.

If you'll be cooking at 250°, you'll need about 8-9 hours for your pork, and 10-11 hours for your brisket. Maybe more depending on size, I'd suggest practicing to figure that part out.
Assuming that you'll bump up the temps to 275° for Ribs and Chicken, you'll probably want to start ribs at 7:30 to 8am, and chicken at 9:30 to 10am in order to have them cooked by turn in time. (Assuming we're talking KCBS w/ turn in times starting at 12 noon)
With that said, I'd start brisket at 8pm, and pork at 9pm, wrap around 2am, and hope to have them out of the smoker by 7am or before. I'd check the charcoal and add more at that time if it's running low or if needed to bump up the temps.
Big meats would be vented a bit then into a cambro to hold until turn ins.

Friggin awsome my freind. So you have done all 4 on yours?
When you said add more charcoal, about how much would you put in. How many wood chunks do you start with. When add charcoal for round 2, do you add wood to the coale for the Ribs & Chicken ?

doing different meats on one pit hasn't worked for me, because I have to lift the dang lid - releasing smoke, heat, steam. and something turns out underdone, something turns out too done. and plus I have to work too hard - hehe.

good reason to go ahead and take the plunge ... get a second, or third, etc. we've all done it. I bought 3 used kettles on CL for $90 - less than one brand new one. you cant kill a weber they never die.

don't lift the lid...

Jason, the best thing you can do is try it a couple times to see what works for you. There are many variables that we can't always foresee.