Paper, plastic, or real plates?!?

RCBaughn

TVWBB Super Fan
I've noticed that quite a few people on here usually serve their food on disposable plates vs. using a glass one. I've never done this before and was wondering if I'm correct in thinking that most of you guys and gals do in fact serve on paper or plastic plates? I can see the appeal for sure in the ease of clean-up, I've just never really thought to try it out walking down the aisle at Wal-Mart. If a lot of peeps can show me a few thought on the advantages vs disadvantages that would be great!

I know that a picture with a paper plate in it SCREAMS backyard grill session or party. The disposable plate may even look better with grilled or smoked food than a fancy fine china plate would. :D Wonder if the plate you use in the TVWBB Throwdown Challenges makes a big difference in how people judge the food and votes. I assume that all barbecue competitions in person are served on disposable plates.

Rob, do you cook dinner AND wash the dishes afterwards...?
If you do, Rich, you may get tired of always washing dishes...
Using paper plates, Ron, is one way to relax a bit after dinner.
;)

Seriuosly Rob, I never notice the plates, I'm always looking at the food. However, I do look for the different types if washing fluid people like to chase it down with. I don't think plating or silverware make a difference IMHO. But to each his own right?

Yep, I always tend to look at the food too and not what it's setting on. How it's on the plate though makes a big difference I guess, especially in pictures. I've had a plate that looks great in real life, but when you snap the picture of it and look at it on the camera it looks only about 25% as good. I still haven't ever got a picture that has turned out as good as the real life food. Guess I need a good camera other than an iPhone.

-Cory