Yet another charcoal topic

Tim M

I've read about many people on the board moving to lump now that Kingsford has changed the formula. I've also read lots of bad things about Cowboy lump. The only lump I can find locally is of course...Cowboy. It is $4.97 for an 8.8lb. bag. I've never used lump before so I don't have any idea what it is like to cook with. If this is the only lump I can find should I bother or just stick with briquettes?

BTW: I'm would be using the lump for overnight cooks in my WSM.

I was one that went out and stock piled over 300 lbs of the old Kingsford before my local Home Depot switched over, but to be honest I have tried a few overnight smokes using the new stuff in my WSM and I really did not notice much of a difference. I may have used a bit more over 14 hours or so, but not enough that I am trying to find an alternative. Just my 2 cents though.

When I first got my kettle, the only lump that I could find was Cowboy and I used it exclusively because it does burn better than kingsford for direct grilling to me. But when I found some other lump at Wal-Mart (Royal Oak) I never bought anymore Cowboy. It is good for one thing and that is for extremely high heat cooking for a very short period of time. While it leaves almost no ash which is a plus, it burns so hot that it is gone very quickly and thus is no good for long cooks.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Scott T.:
I was one that went out and stock piled over 300 lbs of the old Kingsford before my local Home Depot switched over, but to be honest I have tried a few overnight smokes using the new stuff in my WSM and I really did not notice much of a difference. I may have used a bit more over 14 hours or so, but not enough that I am trying to find an alternative. Just my 2 cents though. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Finally, a voice of reason. Thank you!!