WSM vs. Smokin Tex

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

I'm fairly new to the BBQ scene, but have been seriously grilling for many years.

I want a smoker mostly for ribs, butt, briskett etc. I've seen some of the various models of electric and charcoal and I have a New Braunfels grill/smoker (but without the offset box).

Anyhoo...my main concern with the WSM is the amount of spareribs or BB's I can fit in the smoker. The Smokin' Tex has what appears to be a lot more capacity. I know it's electric too.

So which smoker would be better? I'm just a backyard dude with no aspirations to compete. But I do feed up to 20 people from time to time.

In summary, I want to know about the rib capacity for the WSM as well as cooking quality when compared to the electric Smokin' Tex.

Thanks!

Curtis:
I too am a newbie to barbeque but have been grilling for years. I just bought my WSM prior to Memorial Day. I also had previously purchased two (2) Weber rib racks. One of them got misplaced. On Memorial Day, I cooked eight slabs of spare ribs on my WSM. I placed four in the rib rack on the top grate without cutting them; and I rolled four slabs and placed them on the bottom grate. They came out really tender. I was very frustrated for having misplaced the other rib rack and did not turn the ribs during the entire cooking process..., but I should have. Also, Stogie (Kevin Taylor) had a photograph which I saw a couple of weeks ago where he cooked approximately 20 slabs using 1 WSM...I don't know how to get around the forum too good, but maybe someone else will chime in and link you to the photos that I mentioned. Also, I just remember reading this week where I believe Stogie is going to cook for approximately 120 people...I think he said he was going to use only 3 WSMs. Maybe you can look him up and send him an email... Thanks.

Curtis,