WSM newbie, first cook baby back ribs

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

After reading this website for a while and talking all about it with my family, I was very fortunate to get a WSM for my birthday. The weather has finally cleared up and Sunday afternoon I found and afternoon free and baby back ribs on sale at my local market so I gave the BRITU recipe I found on the front page a try.

It was 60 degrees out and slightly windy. By the time I was done it was cold, maybe mid 50s.

For a total novice things went well. I didn't start until 3pm, 1 trip back to the store for more spices. I got the rub on the ribs and realized I needed a thermo, I flew to kmart and got a $4 candy thermometer that had a glass probe. It was about as round as one of the vent holes.

By 4pm I started up the fire. I used the start method in the BRITU article, 1 weber chimney of lit charcoal, 1 chimeny put on top of unlit, add 6 wood chunks. I had apple wood. By 5pm the fire had lit the apple wood chunks, so I assembled the smoker.

I placed the candy thermometer I purchased in one of the top vent holes. It read 250F right away, so I close all the bottom vents (as the article suggested)

I didn't think it was a good idea to keep one of the top vents clogged with a thermometer, so I only kept it there while I was taking a reading.

I waited 1 hour with the smoker assembled as the article suggested. The temperature cooled down to about 210. I put the pork on and I opened one bottom vent. I had 6 6" baby back ribs, I laid them flat bone down on the two grates.

Over the next two hours I watched the WSM and the temp. I thought it should be running at 225 so I opened all three bottom vents. - that did the trick.

At 9pm I flipped the ribs over, meat side down. The BRITU article flipped them too, I'm not sure if it matters.