Why wrap a brisket?

Tom Chips

TVWBB All-Star
I am going to do a 12lb brisket tonight on my WSM, and I was wondering, if I am going to be slicing an vacuum packing 90% of the finished product, is there any benifit to doing the long slow cool down in towels inside coolers, etc.?

Up until now the majority of my BBQ has been butts, so I'm really new to brisket. This weekend my dad turned out a pretty good brisket on his WSM, but I want to try foiling mine, and getting a little more moisture.

Any tips?

Thanks

I usually foil during the cooking process. When I foil I add some beef broth or stock (1/4 c) to the foiled brisket.

After hitting temp I wrap in towels and leave it sit. In my mind the meat absorbs some of the liquid. I think it keeps the brisket a bit juicier.

I would vac-pac the brisket in bigger pieces. It would keep the individual slice from drying out during the reheating process. Then again that would depend on how you reheat the meat.

As far as reheating, I found that 1/4-1/2" slices that are vac-sealed, can be reheated in the microwave for about 30 seconds. The juices don't leak out, and the meat isnt in there long enough to toughen up. Plus, for me, thats a real quick way to get some bbq on the plate. I usually will package about 4-5 long slices in each.

At what temp should I foil? Is there a concensus?

I'm with Craig and Steve. I prefer to leave the brisket whole (or as whole as possible) then slice post reheat. I foil after the plateau is breached--upper 160s-lower 170s.

Some resting is necessary but if the plan is to cool and fridge then you can rest a shorter time, cool, then fridge. Steve is quite right: Meat has an increased ability to absorb moisture/liquid as it cools so this can be used to your advantage.

Though it is possible to slice first I think one has significantly more leeway if the meat is left intact. Either way, don't over-reheat.

Enjoy your brisket!