Weber kamado E6 first cook question

So I am coming from a vision kamado and I always used lump. I had those little rectangular fire starters. They worked great.

I have lump and the fire starters for my E6. But I have never used charcoal baskets before... Nor have I used any kettles in the past.

I think I'm going to do either St Louis or baby back ribs this weekend. If I go that route, should I fill both charcoal baskets... And will that last for a 5-hour low and slow cook I'm about 250°?

I suppose I could always put the lump on top of the grill grate without the baskets, but then I'm thinking the very small pieces may fall through the grate and end up in the bottom of the kettle where they won't burn?

I usually purchase the Royal oak in the 15 lb bag at walmart. Work well in the ceramic kamado. I did pick up a bag of b&b lump based on a review and images I saw... Seems to have larger pieces overall compared to the Royal oak.

Anyway, any advice is much appreciated.

in short, yes the charcoal baskets are your friend and will keep your lump neat and easy to manage (and relight too for next cook).

i only use briqs, on rare occasion now, on the coal grate. i am using my CB's almost all the time for direct and indirect cooks. and i used the CBs last night in the lower position along with the deflector plate to my rib and char siu cook. the CBs make cleanup easy, especially for reuse, and also for upper level cooks.

i always use a chimney. you can read my post on how i light my chimney and can get fully hot coals in 10 mins and then ready to cook in 20 mins. i'll link that here shortly. here's that link on chimney and lighting my E6: https://tvwbb.com/threads/just-wanted-to-brag-a-little.88296/post-991507

yes, you'll need both CBs to keep heat and have enough fuel. i also use the CBs and place the very large lump in between the two CBs for longer cooks so i can better manage large and small lump pieces (i use JD XL for my lump and love it, super clean and hot).