Vanity, Vanity, Thy Name is Barbecue

Dennis T.

TVWBB Super Fan
I'm relatively new with my WSM (3 smokes - two baby back ribs, one turkey) and like most newbies, I'm thrilled with the quality of the barbecue.

Memorial Day weekend, my wife and I will be hosting her family for a get together. Call me vain, but I would LOVE to wow her family with some terrific barbecue.

Details are evolving, but for planning purposes it looks like 11 adults (7 men/4 women). Of the 4 women, one eats only chicken (white meat), one is vegetarian, another is quasi-vegetarian (would eat chicken), and the fourth is normal (my wife!). The men are all confirmed meat eaters ... some more than others.

I have a WSM and a 22.5" Kettle at my disposal.

While I haven't done a butt, it seems like pulled pork is perfect for such gatherings. On the other hand, everyone loves ribs so part of me would love to knock their socks off with some terrific ribs. (The family is really into Montgomery Inn ribs - discussed on another thread - essentially boiled w/ very sweet sauce).

Any menu ideas or past experiences to share would be appreciated.

Dennis--

Wow them.

Can you swing a butt cook in advance? Re-heats easily. Do ribs on the WSM and perhaps a high-heat roast/smoke of chicken, maybe a bunch of quarters, thighs, or bone-in breasts (or a turkey breast!) on the kettle.

Thanks Kevin.

I was kinda thinking along those lines. I could do a butt in advance and reheat. On party day, I could do some ribs on the WSM and chicken on the kettle (I was thinking maybe beer can). I didn't think about a turkey breast ... that would be nice.

Do you think the rib/pulled pork combo is too much?

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Do you think the rib/pulled pork combo is too much? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Hell, no! You're kidding, right?
icon_smile.gif