Using WSM 18” charcoal chamber in Summit Kamado for smoking

Gary Spencer

I saw a few youtube videos that suggested lighting the charcoal off center on the Kamado because the grills tended to burn from one side to the other when set up for smoking. Using Kingsford Blue i noticed the same thing as well as the fire not moving from the center to all the charcoal when the Kamado was set for low and slow (225 to 250).

After puzzling over this for a while i decided to try using the Charcoal Chamber from my 18” WSM (the charcoal chamber for my 22” WSM is to big around) and it worked like a charm. Temperature very easy to control and results even heat all the way around. It might even mitigate the hot zone around the outside diameter of the Kamado because the charcoal is completely contained under the solid part of the diffuser plate.

I have been grilling on my Weber kettles for years, but i am just getting into smoking meat. I wanted to share this to see what the folks who really know what they are doing thought of it.

I saw a few youtube videos that suggested lighting the charcoal off center on the Kamado because the grills tended to burn from one side to the other when set up for smoking. Using Kingsford Blue i noticed the same thing as well as the fire not moving from the center to all the charcoal when the Kamado was set for low and slow (225 to 250).

After puzzling over this for a while i decided to try using the Charcoal Chamber from my 18” WSM (the charcoal chamber for my 22” WSM is to big around) and it worked like a charm. Temperature very easy to control and results even heat all the way around. It might even mitigate the hot zone around the outside diameter of the Kamado because the charcoal is completely contained under the solid part of the diffuser plate.

I have been grilling on my Weber kettles for years, but i am just getting into smoking meat. I wanted to share this to see what the folks who really know what they are doing thought of it.