Turbinado Sugar vs. Brown Sugar

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chet Johnson

TVWBB Super Fan
I'm new at this and I don't want to start a religious war, so be gentle. I note that a number of recipes specify turbinado sugar. Why not commonly available "brown" sugar?

In your experience, what flavor/browning/bark/??? difference would I expect when using turbinado vs. garden variety "brown sugar" and when would I use it to it's best effect? Is there a special "something"? Is it a custom of using "premium" ingredients? Could it just be a habit?
Would brown sugar be a 1:1 replacement for turbinado, or should I adjust the recipe a bit?

Inquiring minds want to know.

Chet

I think the recent switch from using brown sugar to turbinado is that brown sugar is quite moist and will cause a rub to clump together rather than being shakeable.

I've seen recipes that mention brown sugar to dry it first. Turbinado is already dry and has some of that molasses flavor since it's not totally refined so it's a good substitute.

While turbinado is a little more expensive than plain table sugar, I'm not sure it's that much more than brown sugar if you can find it in bulk. I just picked it up from the bulk section at Whole Foods for $.99/lb.

As far as substituting brown for turbinado, I'd say you could go 1:1 but I would recommend drying the sugar first before using it. I seem to recall this can be done by spreading out on a cookie sheet and possibly placing in a LOW oven.

Joe

Chet,

I am as green as you when it comes to smoking. But I haven't bought turbinado and just used light brown and the results were great. I can't find the link now, but Chris posted one for a site that has a glossary of foods, and substitutes were included. Light brown was the sub for turbinado. I haven"t had a clumping problem, but I see how it could happen as Joe pointed out.

Jeff