Three butt cooking strategy, will this work ok?

Mark D

TVWBB Member
Hi everyone,

Three firsts this weekend, first butt cook, first multi-butt cook, and first overnight cook. All at the same time. It's the price I pay for having Fathers Day at my own house instead of running around all over the place
icon_eek.gif
I have cooked ribs a couple of times so I have at least a basic understanding of the temp control thing.

I bought 3 butts today, which weighed 9, 7 1/3, and 6 1/4 lbs before trimming. I don't have a scale so I dont know how much they weigh after, but I guess there was about 4 1/2 lbs of trimmings when I was done so call it 20% less after trimming, which puts them at 7 1/4, 5 3/4, and 5 lbs (hey, I'm an engineer, give me a break
icon_smile.gif
)

I want to eat about 4:30 tomorrow afternoon, so I plan to pull the butts about 1:00, foil them, and put them in a cooler. That gives me 3.5 hours fudge time.

Figuring about 2 hours per pound, that means the big one needs to be on at about 11PM tonight. This is the one I intend to put the ET-73 probe in for the duration of the cook as well. The question is, what do I do about the smaller ones? Was thinking I should stagger the start times, but I'm thinking that is going to give me temp fluctuations I don't want to deal with. So now I'm thinking I should put everything in at the same time, but put the 2 smaller ones on the bottom grate and put the thermo in the larger of those 2, then move it to the big one when the small ones are ready. Is there enough temp difference between the lower an upper grate to get the finish times at least within a couple of hours range?

Thanks,
Mark

Mark, I plan on 18 hour cooks at 225*. My advice is to start any time now. It takes me quite a while to pull three butts. I plan to cook 4 butts tonight and I want them to finish about three pm. I will foil for 2 hours then pull. I'll put them on by 9pm at the latest.