Think I screwed up the butts

Bob Swaskoski

TVWBB Fan
I think that I really screwed up and I need some help here guys.

I had 2 butts, one 7lb and the other 8.5lb both bone in. While trimming the fat, I ended up separating the butts into a boneless and bone-in section. Don't ask me why....newbie mistake, not the first....

Anyway, I put them on the cooker at 10pm last night at about 250. at 3am I took the dog out and the cooker was at about 240. Everything looked good so I went back to bed figuring that they would cook at least until 7am. Second newbie mistake; I do not have a remote thermometer. I got up, the cooker is cold and the meat temp is about 125. They look pretty done but I have no idea what to do next. Wrap them? Pitch them? Any help would be appreciated!

Hi Bob -

I'm a relative newbie myself, but possibly an overzealous food-safety nut at times. And I'm going to tell you what you don't want to hear (but were probably expecting). If the weather in PA has been under 90 last night (I'm sure it was) the USDA says food just sitting there for 2 hours or more at this temperature should be discarded. See this link:
http://www.fsis.usda.gov/facts...nity_Meals/index.asp

You might chance it - but if all your guests come down with a food-related illness on your first smoke, that would certainly put a damper on future guest list responses. I would discard the meat, chalk it up as part of your education, and then move forward.

The real question is how did this happen? I would guess that you either ran out of fuel or you completely closed off the air vents and the charcoals were extinguished - since you only left it alone for 4 hours.

Good luck - and don't write off the WSM. A few more bits of insight from the expert members here and you'll be up and smoking in no time.
-andy