Taste your spices

Steve Petrone

TVWBB Platinum Member
In preparation for revising my basic rub and KC sauce, I tasted a few of the spices I wanted to consider.
I felt I 'knew' the spices I was considering.
I sampled thyme, sage, oregano, chili powder...I just tried a pinch-by itself.
Some were surprising. One was a dud. Old? Maybe.
Different that I had expected ? Yep.
I am a very amature cook, who has enthusiasm.
Getting to know the spices I am using-and have used for years is now on my list.
I can only wonder how they learn at Johnson & Wales here in Charlotte.

The same way you did.

And smell can be even more powerful. Think of how a smell can bring back a memory of a moment that happened years ago.

When I teach aspiring cooks I always insist they taste their work as the recipe progresses. I have them taste its components (like the spices), but I have them smell everything--even things like mayo, lemon juice, or cider vinegar--I really mean everything. And I have them do it each time the open that mayo jar, every time they unwrap the parmesan for grating, each time they pull the caramelized onions off the stove (and if they've added herbs or spices or wine or whatever to the onions during the cooking, then they've smelled each item before it was added, and then they smelled the onions after each addition cooked a bit and contributed its essence. It becomes second nature after a while. I have done this for so long I scarcely notice I'm doing it.

Two major things (relating to food) are possible as a result. The brain has an amazing ability to remember and compartmentalize sensuous experiences, but particularly those involving smell. The first (perhaps obvious) thing is that with experience smelling what something is supposed to smell like when fresh, you can immediately recognizes when it's 'off', spoiled, or just old.