Storage ? for Kevin Kruger

Dan N.

TVWBB Pro
Friend of mine is doing 30 butts over the next 3 weeks for a big party. Freezing will be done in commercial pans covered with saran and then alum foil. My question - he says that he will be adding apple juice before he freezes. I think he shouldn't add anything, but when the pans are thawed he can provide a combo of apple juice, BBQ sauce, rub, etc to be added at that point of time. Just seems to me that adding the apple juice early may make some mushy pork.

Thanks - Always value your input. Dan

I'm no kevin kruger... but...

I don't think there is too much of a problem with the apple juice beforehand. Since the meat is frozen, it won't break down the meat too much. Plus, apple juice doesn't have too much acidity in it, which is a bigger culprit for breaking down meat than just plan liquid.

But, I'm no expert (i.e., k. kruger)...

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">...may make some mushy pork. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>Or, perhaps, may make some of the pork mushy.