Spare Ribs in 30 Minutes

Joe L

TVWBB Member
I've been barbecuing for almost 8 months, and I find that there is much to learn and much that I don't yet know. I started with the Weber kettle grill and got a WSM a little over one week ago.

My favorite Q is ribs. I started barbecuing spare ribs and baby backs using recipes from Steve Raichlen's books that called for cooking times of around 1-1/2 hours at medium-hot temperatures (350 or so). I then discovered low and slow BBQ recipes that took around 5 hours at 225-250. Low and slow produced great falling off the bone ribs.

Recently, I've been trying ribs at local BBQ restaurants to see how mine compare. I've discovered that most of the local BBQ restaurants only do spare ribs, don't trim them at all and don't use rubs. As I was leaving one of the local BBQ restaurants, I asked how long they cooked their ribs. The answer was "around 30 minutes", which I just couldn't believe. The ribs I had eaten at that restaurant had been falling off the bone, and I couldn't see how that could have been achieved in only 30 minutes.

However, today I was watching an episode of BBQ American which showed a clip from the famous Dreamland BBQ restaurant in Tuscaloosa, AL. The Dreamland pitmaster stated that he used to think that good ribs required 4 to 5 hours of Q'ing, but he had come to discover that one can get just as rood ribs in 30 minutes to one hour.

Does anyone know what places like Dreamland are doing to achieve falling off the bone ribs in just 30 minutes? How is that possible?

Best,

Joe

Well, let me rephrase my question, the "falling off the bone" part is subjective and not important to the question.

How do places like Dreamland achieve done ribs in just 30 minutes?