Smoking Times

Jeff S

TVWBB Pro
I am pretty new at smoking so I am still working on my technique. From what I have seen so far, when my meat reaches proper temp (about 8 hours for butts and 3 hours for ribs) it does not have the texture of what I like from restaurants. I guess I like my meat a little more "done" when it comes to smoking. Does anyone have any suggestions for cooking meat longer?

I'm not sure where you got the 8 hours and 3 hours from but cooking at typical low/slow temps will not give you the results you're looking for in that time frame--as you've discovered. At low temps (225-250) you're looking at 12-18 hours for butts (depending on size and actual cook temps), 6-8 hours for spares (depending on same).

That said, one only wants to use time as a guide to how long something might take. The meat is 'done' when it's done to your liking--and that's when it's pulled from the cooker.

Whoops--lost my Net signal... If you click on the Cooking Topics tab at the top of this page you can peruse the recipes Chris has assembled. This will give you a clearer idea of possible temps, times and techniques to try.

I cook 9 lbs butts to an internal temp of 195* to 200*, which takes about 12 hours or more. I then wrap them in heavy duty foil and rest them in a cooler of similar size for 2 hours. My cooking temps are around 225* to 250* throughout the 12 hour period. Then unwrap, pull and enjoy!

Baby back ribs, same cooking temps, for about 2 to 3 hours. Then wrap them in foil and place them back on the cooker for another 1 to 2 hours. The foil wrap is what tenderizes and makes them fall off the bone if done too long or if thats how you like them. After foiling I place them back on the smoker to firm them back up a bit, around 45 minuntes to an hour. Then finish with your favorite glaze or sauce for around a half hour.