Smoking for 2.5

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Hi, complete newbie here getting close to buying a WSM, but would like some advice on a couple of things to help justify it.

Most of the time (at least until I build some confidence on my smoking abilities), I'll want to make things that will work well for our small family (wife and 4 year-old). In other words, before I go burn up a 15-pound hunk of meat with a dozen friends waiting, I'd like to try a few smaller things beforehand.

Questions:

1) What are the best things to attempt as I'm learning, given that most of what I'll make the first few times out will be for two adults?

2) If I make something bigger, what are the types of things that I can keep or freeze, and what's the best way to save and later "revive" it?

If I get some good suggestions and have luck over the summer, maybe I'll turn this into an article for the site. Maybe "Newbies' Guide to Learnin' without Burnin'?"

Thanks from a newbie,
Chris

Hi Chris, and Welcome!

I've only had my WSM for a couple of months, so take that into consideration.

I'd suggest that you start with a pork butt for a couple of reasons. First off, they are real forgiving. It's a long cook, but the temps can vary and you still get great results. With a little one in the family, the Mr. Brown recipe might be a little too spicy, but the spice is mostly in the bark, so some interior meat would be okay. Secondly, the butt is fairly inexpensive, so even on the off chance you did mess up, you wouldn't be out a lot of $$.

If you want a shorter cook for the first time, you can't beat baby backs and the BRITU recipe here on the site.