Smoked Trout

Glenn M

TVWBB Member
I'm going on a fishing campout in a few weeks and doing a couple of butts for everyone one night.

We'll be catching trout, flounder and redfish and I'd like to smoke some of this, at least some trout for myself and the guys.

I read a few things on here in the recipe section and the search function. It seems Alder is the traditional wood. I have apple, cherry and guava and would prefer to use one of these if I can.

If anyone has information regarding temp and cook times it would be appreciated. I'm guessing the trout will weigh 1-3 pounds. Is brining necessary or just a nice extra?

I'm thinking that the test of doneness will be based on feeling rather than temp. Any advice on what to look for would be appreciated.

I have little experience with fish but I can tell you that apple and cherry will work nicely. I am not sure about guava (don't have any around here). I bought some alder early this year and it is still in the barn unused. From what I have read you want to use a real mild wood which most fruit wood will qualify.

For some reason people rave about the alder. I guess I will find out why when I get around to buying some more fish. I really want to try some tuna. I saw some at sams a couple of months ago but didn't have time to cook it and the butcher said they were going to start carrying it so I didn't buy it. I haven't seen any there since.
icon_frown.gif

Glenn,