Smoked Chicken Wings...

Jim Reincke

yum-Yum-YUM!
Smoked up 5lbs of chicken wings yesterday for dinner (not just for me)...WOW were they good. I have never done wings before; always grilled them. Smoked 'em between 225* and 250* for almost 2.5 hours. Had a drip pan under them with a mixture of water and leftover marinade (canola oil, honey, red wine vinegar, Lea & Perrins, Kosher Salt); then spritzed them every 15 minutes in the last 1.5 hours with straight apple juice...turned them once toward the end of the cook cycle and added a few more chips of Hickory to get the underside evenly colored to match the top. They were awesome...think I'll have some leftovers for lunch today!
Thanks to lots of great suggestions, and reading, on this site, we have been in smoker mode for about a week now...Whole Chickens, Baby Backs, and now Chix Wings. Thanks to all of you who post on this site!

Jim,

That sounds very good. I've never done my smoked wings like that, but I might have to try. I LOVE smoked wings and I almost always have some on whenever guests are coming over as appatizers.

Josh

Your right, smoked wings are very good. I have been doing them, when I do ribs. After doing ribs, there is usually still plenty of coals to cook some wings. First time I did them, we were suprised at how good they were.

I have found though, that the piece called the drumette is even better. I buy them in the frozen section. I also use a spray of apple juice, and vinegar, then dust them with the same rub that I just used for the ribs. Makes it nice for when you are having alot of people over. And, I've been thinking about throwing a few in food saver bags after being cooked. For instant dinner type of thing. Have no idea how frozen chicken on the bone will be....
icon_smile.gif

Hadn't thought of FoodSaver bags! Could do up a couple bags of them at once, seal 'em up and freeze 'em for a later time! Great idea!