Smoke penetration

russell swift

TVWBB Super Fan
How much smoke from a couple chunks of smoke wood (apple, pecan, oak, etc.) actually penetrates a piece of meat? Let's take a pork butt for example. Does the smoke only penetrate into the outside bark or can it penetrate deeper into the muscle? Trying to settle a debate here....

I'm no scientist... but from flavor... you really only get smoke flavor on the outside of the meat. Maybe penetrating about as far as a smoke ring - 1/4 inch at most, I'd say.

But, once you pull and the outside parts mix with the inside bits, the whole lot tastes like smoke.

But... if you were to somehow take a piece from the center of a butt after it's finished without it touching the outside, I don't think you'd notice much if any smoke flavor.

but... that's just my unscientific thought...

The smoke ring will stop forming when the meat reaches and internal temp of 140-150 degrees, but the smoke penetration of the meat will continue as long you add wood, and will penetrate deep in the meat. My pork butts have smoke taste all the way to the core. I am not a scientist type either but I do know what I have experienced.

Quoting our own Doug D of several years ago, smoke is deposited on the meat, not absorbed into the meat ... whatever
icon_smile.gif

Paul

Close, Paul, but allow me to elaborate:

Big T, my friend, I'm going to have to disagree with you on this one, and chalk your perception up to wishful thinking. Smoke is deposited on the meat at a minimum, and is adsorbed onto the outer layers at best. Check your Merriam-Webster for the definition of adsorption.

With ribs, we have no problem getting the taste of smoke throughout, as we have no real mass to contend with. With a butt, we get the smoke to the interior when we pull the meat and distribute the smoky exterior parts to the tender, juicy interior.