Smoke levels in Beef v. Pork

adam clyde

TVWBB Pro
I generally use less smoke with poultry than I would with pork. However, not sure if I should adjust the smoke level for beef. Planning on doing a chuck roast this weekend... If I were you (be thankful you aren't) would you aim for about the same smoke level as you would for butts?

Except for meatloaf, I have no experience smoking anything beef, not even brisket. So... thoughts appreciated.

I, too, use less with poultry. For pork and beef--for me--it depends on thickness/size of the cut. I like a fair amount of smoke but use less on a thin cut (like ribs) and substantially more on a big cut (like butt). I find I use the same approach to beef--less with ribs, more with brisket/small chuck roasts, still more with a thick top or bottom round or chuck roast, chuck roll, and the like. So, yes, for me it's roughly the same smoke level.

Finally a nice day in Conn. after all the rain and cool weather, huh? I'm in Newtown at the moment.

Newtown, eh? I'm on 45 minutes away. Yes... hallelujah we finally have sun. Yesterday and the day before were downright frigid for May. Especially from this california kid.

Thanks for the info on the smoke. That was what I was thinking. I'm doing a chuck roast that is about 4 inches thick, so I'm going to use a fair amount of smoke... I figured it would be harder to overpower, since when it is pulled, the inside (mildly smokey) will moderate the outside (heavily smokey).

- Adam

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">since when it is pulled, the inside (mildly smokey) will moderate the outside (heavily smokey). </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Precisely. You get a bit more smoke inside less dense meat, like chuck, imo, over--say, bottom round, but nothing that it can't handle (though I like smoke). You'll have to see what you think and modify, if needed, from there.