Should I get the 18.5 or 22.5 Weber OTS

P Mata

A little bit of background:

I currently own a new braunfels grill (I think they're charbroil now) with an offset smoker. I am rather new to grilling and I bought it because I wanted to learn how to smoke as well. It really didn't work out very well though. It has way too many gaps, the metal is paper thin, and it was very difficult to maintain the temp up without using A LOT of charcoal. Anyways, I ended up just using it as a grill, but I have a lot of problems with flare-ups and it's way to big since I only grill for 3. It only comes in handy when I have the family come over for a cookout.

Now I want to purchase a Weber 18.5 silver so I can grill in small quantities but the 22.5 is only $20 more and it kinda hurts to pass up on that much more grill for only $20. I'd love to try indirect cooking again and I think the 22.5 would allow me to do that, but then I'd be left with the same problem of a grill too big and having to use a lot of charcoal. i've tried grilling with less fuel in my NB grill but it burns out really fast, and it just doesn't work. I assume that the same would happen on the 22.5. Am I correct to assume this? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Pablo

P.S.
I'm Mexican so what I usually grill the most is Fajitas, chicken, sausage, and "costilla de pecho" which is basically brisket with the bone still in it (very fatty and causes a lot of flare ups) Thanks again and sorry for the long post

If you're going to be cooking something as big as a brisket *costilla de pecho" then I would think you need the extra space a 22" grill would provide. It's very easy to keep the Weber kettles to the temp you want so the larger size won't be an issue when you want to do smaller cooks.