Script Question

Tim McGee

I'm a developer by trade.

I'd like to be able to turn the power on for X minutes at 100% and then shut off for Y minutes.
I'd like to repeat this numerous times.
I cold smoke using this routine manually.

Where should I start? I see there are fmin/fmax config variables. Are they accessible from a shell script?

EG: on at 100% for 15 minutes
off for 45
on at 100% for 15 minutes
off for 45
you get the idea

Here's a script I used in the probe 0 high (PIT) script area for ramping up slowly to initially entered setpoint. Set the alarm to initially trigger above 100 to activate the script. You may be able to use something like this between high/low scripts to control based on PIT temperatures rather than time. Time may not be a good variable to use because it can affect consistency with changes in weather, PIT rise/fall times, etc...

#!/bin/sh

# Silence this alarm, it will ring again if re-armed
lmclient LMST,al,,0

#Find original setpoint for final ramping value
if [ -s /tmp/original_setpoint ] ; then
orig_sp=`cat /tmp/original_setpoint`
else
orig_sp="$sp"
echo "$sp" > /tmp/original_setpoint
fi

#Enable the Smoker Temp Low Threshold and it's alarm
lmclient LMST,al,$(($orig_sp-10))

#Ramp up temperature to avoid combustion of wood
case $al_thresh in
100) NEWSP=140; NEWAL=139; msg="$pn Initial Threshold $al_thresh reached, next alarm @ $NEWAL."; ;;
139) NEWSP=$orig_sp; NEWAL=$orig_sp; msg="$pn Intermediate Threshold $al_thresh reached, next alarm @ $NEWAL."; ;;
$orig_sp) NEWSP=$orig_sp; NEWAL=100; msg="$pn Setpoint: $al_thresh reached, and holding."; ;;
esac

lmclient LMST,sp,$NEWSP
lmclient LMST,al,,$NEWAL

Last edited:
I'm a developer by trade.

I'd like to be able to turn the power on for X minutes at 100% and then shut off for Y minutes.
I'd like to repeat this numerous times.
I cold smoke using this routine manually.

Where should I start? I see there are fmin/fmax config variables. Are they accessible from a shell script?