Question on storage Performer Platinum

Matt I

TVWBB Member
Alright folks have a question on storage. Picked up a Performer Platinum, between cooks should I leave the vents open or closed? I have a WSM22 and dump the coals after every smoke, then leave the vents open for storage and put the cover on as I leave outside, on the performer I always have coals left over to use again. Soould I leave the vents closed for a day or so then open? Or just leave the vents closed when not in use? Also am I throwing $$ down the drain dumping my smoker to keep the vents open I between cooks. I thought I read somewhere to keep all the vents open when not in use. But as I am fairly new to the world of charcoal any help would be appreciated. I am frying to make sure I do what is needed so these things will last for a long time.

Thanks in advance.

My $.02 would be to leave the vents closed on the Performer or any kettle after shutting it down following a cook. I also reuse whatever leftover charcoal there is. Keeping the vents closed keeps moisture out and the remaining charcoal in better condition. I also cover my Performer and another Weber Kettle. I also have a 22.5 WSM which I clean the charcoal bowl after each cook; I also keep that covered and the vents closed when stored.