Prime Rib Internal Temp

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grim

TVWBB Member
I did a beautiful prime rib on the WSM last night! I've done it before on my grill, but this is my first attempt on the WSM and it turned out almost perfect.

It wasn't perfect because I cooked it to an internal temp of 150, which was just a little too done. I'm using Weber's remote probe (which I wouldn't recommend) which calls 145 medium rare and 160 medium.

Where I come from medium = pink with a hot center and medium rare = red with a warm center. If I had cooked it to 160, it would have been well done by my book. As it was, 150 resulted in what I would call medium well: light pink hot center.

Next time I do this, I'm going to shoot for a 145 temp. But I'm wondering whether anyone has any suggestions for the right temp to get that bright pink, hot center?

Grim

Personely I shoot for 125 to 127 when I pull it off the cooker, You can also cook hotter than normal which will give you a greater range of doneness (not sure that's a word). The outside more towards med and up but the center will be rare.
Jim

Hi Grim,

I'm curious about how you cooked your prime rib... What kind of charcoal/lump, pit temp, smoke wood, if any, etc.

Thanks,

Bill,

The first thing I did is score the meat on all sides in a diamond pattern. Then I took Lawry's and rubbed it very generously on all sides of the beef. I've tried several different rubs, but if you've ever actually eaten prime rib at the Lawry's restaurant, you know it's worth trying to reproduce their results.

I fired up the WSM with 2 full chimneys of Kingsford. It was around 30 degrees outside, but the temp of the cooker was a little over 300. Top vent and one bottom vent all the way open. The other two vents were about 50%. That kept it at about 300 the whole cook.