pork butts advice

John Sampson

TVWBB Member
ok guys need some help, using mr brown recipe, this is my 2nd burn, did a roaster chicken yesterday just to break in the smoker it came out great, but now i want to do the stuff i bought this wsm for. i have 2 pork butts total lb about 14 after trimming all rubbed up and in the fridge, plan on getting up about 6:00 am to start, i will be using lump charcoal as oppossed to his briquettes, so how do i set this up, please give me a step by step if you can as i am a rookie to this, i plan on useing hickory and apple chunks thanks for the info

Sounds like you are off to a good start.

My main suggestion would be to go with the Minion Method for preparing/lighting your charcoal. Fill the charcoal bowl half-full then put 1/2 of the wood chunks you plan to use on the charcoal. Now fill the bowl to the top with more charcoal and put the other 1/2 of the smoke wood chunks on top of that. Using a chimney starter, pref. Weber brand, light your charcoal. When lit pour the chimney starter onto the charcoal bowl and assemble your WSM.

Things I do/don't do (or at least before I got the guru):
I don't turn my butts (still don't). I don't baste them or anything. I'm not into removing the lid unless I absolutely must.
I do/did drop a thermometer through the dome vent to measure lid temp. Shooting for a cooking grate temp of ~225 I was happy with a dome temp of ~250.
I do have a probe (polder-style) thermo for tracking the meat temp - allowing me to monitor it without lifting the lid. Monitoring 1 of the 2 butts is good enough - pick the smaller one. I shoot for about 198-200, figuring even once removed and foiled for rest the internal temp may continue to rise a bit.