Pork Butt Time Question

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

I love the site, love the board, love the WSM, first time posting.

Using the theory that a 6 pound pork butt will take approx. 12 hours(2 hours/lb.), will two 3 pound butts only take 6 (2 hours per pound individually)??? Or because its 6 pounds of meat total still take 12 hours? Sounds like an old theorm from geometry class...like the "Law of inverse smoked pork" or something like that.

Thanks

Brad,

Welcome aboard!

Your theory sounds good, but, pork butt has to go through a connective tissue breakdown period of time where the fat is also rendered. This usually happens around 160* and can take a few hours. I've never done 3 pounders before but I can tell you it will probably take longer than 6 hours. Your best bet is to put a calibrated remote thermometer like an ET-73 in the center of one of the butts and go for it. It shouldn't take 12 hours though. BTW, I've had 7 pounders go 22 to 23 hours cooking at 225 and they never got to 195*. Others here might be able to give you a better idea of time
icon_smile.gif

Again, welcome to TVWB.

The "hours per pound" estimate applies to the individual piece of meat, and not the cumulative weight of all pieces in the cooker. The key word, however is "estimate", as some butts-- and briskets, too-- seem to defy conventional wisdom and end up cooking more slowly or quickly than expected. Rely on your thermometer first and foremost, and allow extra time for those occasional stubborn ones.