Pork butt on gas grill

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cy Robinson

R.I.P 3/14/2017
Good morning all,
This is my first attempt at pork butt on anything. My WSM is still in the future and I am cooking on a Coleman gas grill. I'm loosely following the guide lines in "How to Grill by Raichlen. the meat was moved from the freezer to the refrigerator this morning. The plan is to apply the rub on Friday morning and cook on Saturday morning. The rub is a mustard/sesame seed seasoning found in the same book. I plan to use the "North Carolina Pulled Pork" mop sauce and serving sauce recipes on page 109.

Had both propane tanks filled for the 4th weekend so have plenty of fuel. Will use Hickory chips in a smoker pouch for the smoke.

My main concern is the cooking time and the grill temperature. The meat weighs 6.7 lbs untrimmed. hopefully my daughter will pick up an oven thermo on her way home from work so I will have some idea what the heat will be at the lowest setting and indirect cooking. If anybody has any suggestions I would really like any and all advice I can get. It will be appreciated. /infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

Thanks,

Cy...

I have done a couple of pork butts on the gasser. Almost impossible to keep the heat at 225?, so if it rises to 275? you will still be OK. It's when you get above 300? that your results will be impacted.

Try propping the lid open just a touch and place a large pan of water in there as well. Put the water pan directly over the 1 burner that is lit. I used 2 loaf pans as my burners run lengthwise from left to right. A large baking pan works as well but the water will burn off much quicker...shallower than a loaf pan.

The good news..at 275? it will take a little less time. Sorry, but it's been so long I have no idea what my times were. I am willing to bet around 1 - 1 1/2hrs./lb. ALWAYS plan on the longer time as it is much easier to hold than to hurry.