Pork Butt doneness?

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

I am new to cooking with the WSM, but have successfully made some ribs, brisket & chicken. I decided to try a pork butt for pulled pork sandwiches with interesting results. The meat cooked for approximately 15 hours with an average lid temp of 250 degrees. I took the meat off (had to go to bed) with an internal temp of 182 degrees. I put the meat in the frig overnight and decided to have sandwiches today... except when I started pulling the meat apart it was pink inside. The entire piece was pink NOT just the smoke ring. Is this normal for a pork butt? It doesn't seem possible that the meat wasn't cooked, but I am curious whether others have experienced this?

The bone-in Boston Butts I barbecue are in the 6.5 to 7.5 pound range and are done on my WSM after about 10-12 hours at 220-250 cooking grate temps.

Pork butt easily pulls when the internal temperature of the meat reaches 190 degrees. Also, I find it much easier to "pull" or shred the pork when it is hot, before you put it in the refrigerator. Cold pork will shred too, but I have to work harder to do it.

I doubt the pink color is a problem but you never know. Next time shred the meat while it is still warm before you refrigerate it and check the color at that time for comparison.

Danny Hardesty

Mike

I cooked three over night this weekend. Took about 16 hrs to get to 195. I was surprised when I checked at 7:00 a.m. that all charcoal had burned. Added more and finished with no problem.

The meat was also slightly pink - not just the smoke ring. I don't see a problem. I remember Weber making some statement in their material about smoked meat having a pinkish color. I'm confident it is absolutely safe and it had a great taste.

PRG

I'm no expert but I've done at least a dozen shoulders and butts and pink is normal - it's not a sign of being underdone.