Old kettle - how to clean it up

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherry N

I just picked up a free Weber kettle from Craigslist. I'm brand new to grills and I still have my heart set on a Crate and Barrel green performer, but since it was free, I figured the worst that could happen is that I got what I paid for.
icon_smile.gif

The grill is the 22" size with a bit of rust and a dent on the lid. The color seems to be gray, but uniformly gray, maybe with some white flecks. Do the black ones fade with age? It has the remnants of wooden handles. Is there anyway to replace those?

I took some pictures of the grill to show you guys what I'm working with, but I can't figure out how to add them. (Can someone help me with that, please?) What should I be looking for? What sorts of things should I be doing to clean up a used Weber kettle?

Any help is greatly appreciated!! Thank you!
icon_smile.gif

well ya got a nice three wheeler. thats the three vents on the bottom. as for the wood handles you can just cut a large dowel in half and use that. clean it out with some oven cleaner and then some sos pads. finish it off with some very fine steel wool. the grates can be cleaned with a 2-3 in brass wire wheel in a drill. i don't really bother with the dents except to just put some pam oil on the rust. its a badge of honor. once yer done it will look a lot better. then the fun begins. as you learn you will find that the kettle can do a lot more than you think.

You can go get you a new Weber handle and it should mount right to the metal already there.
They are about $7.
As for cleaning, dose the outside down with some Easy Off - let it sit for about 30 min and then give it a good rubbing.
Not much to it really

personally, the plastic handles are the pits. i would rather have wood of any kind rather than plastic. i will probably switch all mine to wood soon as i come up on some nice lookin wood. but its ones choice no matter what.