Number of Burners to Turn On

Mike-BBQ

TVWBB Member
I am new to the Weber, so bear with me. Do you turn on all the burners on your Weber (I have a 435) for every cook no matter how much you are cooking? On my old grill, I would turn on all burners just because I knew my grill and knew the temperatures. So, if you say are just cooking 3 burgers, do you only turn on 2 burners? Which ones? I understand you would be using less gas, but just asking for my knowledge.

Do you have to turn on the burners in sequence left to right, or can you say just turn on the middle ones, or maybe just the ones on the right?

Yes, you can use any combo of burners for cooking depending on the size of the cook and the method of cooking. Some cooks are better done "indirect" no matter the size. This is where you place the food over the unlit burners and cook using indirect heat. Other times, as you say, you only have three burgers to cook on a 4 burner grill. I would cook them over probably two lit burners with direct heat.
The lighting sequence of burners depends on the grill. Some require the left most burner to light and then you can light all the others. Then if you want, you can leave the left burner(s) on and turn off the others on the right or any combo of burners. Most of the newer grills have individual igniters now and you can light whatever burner you want in any order and leave the others off.

Hey Mike
I am new to the Weber, so bear with me. Do you turn on all the burners on your Weber (I have a 435)

I have a 330 and I light all the burners, run it on high for a few minutes, I preheat until the lid temp is over 400. I don't really pay much attention to it, but sometimes will run the pre-heat longer if I'm burning off grease from prior cooks.

after the preheat I shut off one or two burners. I rarely cook a full grill full of food on the gas grill, so having half hot direct and half indirect works for most things I'm cooking.