Not What I Expected - Brisket

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

G

Okay, I'm new to this and am trying my first brisket tonight. I purchased a 13lb packer from Sams and opened it up to trim, slather and rub for my all-nighter.

What I expected was to trim off a large amount of fat (the fat cap everyone talks about) and end up with a cut of meat that was relatively uniform in thickness.

What I got was about 1.5lbs of fat total to leave 1/4" of fat on the meat. Now, most of the fat came from a cone shaped depsit going through the center of the thick end of the cut, this area started out about 5" thick and after removing the cone is probably about 3" thick (as the top 1" colapsed int the bottom 2") then tapering off to 1" or so at the other end.

Did I select a poor cut, or a better cut?

Will it cook okay, being so uneven?

Any advice would be appreciated.
bkh

Whole briskets are comprised of two sections of muscle known as the flat and the point, which are connected by a vein of fat and connective tissue. Sounds like, in your trimming, you removed the point. Briskets' flats are typically thinner at the end under the point, but it's the fattier point that bastes this thinner end, keeping it from drying out. Most full brisket cookers cook until the flat reaches desired doneness, and then remove the point, putting it back into the cooker, and taking it to a higher final temperature.

Doug
Thanks for the reply. The brisket is still in one piece, although the cone I am refering to (the point you mentioned) has only about 1/4" of fat remaining. If I cook fat side up, will this thing still turn out edible?
bkh

It should be fine. As I mentioned, the point is a lot fattier (inside, too) than the flat, so you should be able to cook fat up or down, if you wish. If you're a burnt end fan, it might actually be even better than if you hadn't touched it.