Newbie Charcol Question

Glenny B

Hi,

I'm a charcoal newbie and I'm just starting to get the hang of things. I've had one issue though - getting my grill up to high heat (500 degrees) for things like steaks.

here is what I have:
- A weber performer w/ gas starter 22.5 inches
- a weber chimney starter.

I've been filling the chimney starter to about half full (about 50 briquettes) and have let them burn in the starter until the top coals start glowing red. However, when I dump them in the grill (covering about half the grill using a three-zone cooking style) It seems that the temp only gets as high as 350-400 degrees.

Should I be using more coals?

Thanks,

Glenn

Welcome Glenn!

What Tom said, and what brand of coals are you using?

Plus, I would use a full chimney if I wanted higher temps.

PS, where do you live?

I have kept the vents open 100%. To be honest I haven't started experimenting with vent open/close other than to stop the fire.

As far as charcoal, I'm using standard Kingsford basically because we had a sale although I have a bag of lump charcoal sitting in the garage and ready to go for when we run out.

I will give it a go with a full chimney.

As far as where I live - Northwest side of Chicago.

Glenn,

Where are you measuring the temperature? At the dome? That's going to be quite a bit different than what you get at the grill surface (where it counts).

I sometimes like to put the charcoal baskets back-to-back, move them to one side of the grill, and fill them up. While you get less surface area for searing, you get the coals nice and close to the grill, and you have a nice indirect zone to finish cooking.

Try lump. If you want it hot get 2 lenghts of 1/4 inch stainless steel. I use 2 rotisserie skewers lay them across the edges of the kettle and let the lid rest on those so there is a gap between the lid and the kettle . I can get my kettle friggen hot that way.