Need some help...

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

I have tried the spare rib and baby back recipes found under the cooking section. They were great, but I was wondering if anyone had any good sweet recipes, maybe honey based. Can I just cook ribs without a rub, or do I always need to have something on, such as salt, etc. Can I just cook them with nothing on them and then just glaze with a good BBQ sauce? Is this common? Sorry for all the questions, but I am still new at this. The recipes were good, but my wife said both of them were too spicy for her
icon_smile.gif

thanks!

I haven't done great ribs on the WSM yet, but when I do 'em on my kettle (either on the rotisserie, if they're babybacks or st. louis) or standing in a rib rack if they are enormous dinosaur (beef) ribs.

On the rotis, I just use a wee bit of olive oil, lemon, salt, pepper, and herbs de provence. Once they're done you can offer folks sauce for dipping, but it's hardly needed as the pure pork taste is just delicious.

On the bronto ribs, I used Steven Raichlen's glaze to baste 'em---mostly hoisin sauce and honey----and man were they FANTASTIC!

My wife prefers a milder rub as well, I really don't care as long as the ribs are glazed well. Everyone likes my ribs, I'm told.
icon_smile.gif
The guys on this site will recommend Texas BBQ rub #1 probably. I've never tried it because there are so many good rubs available here in KC, my fav is the mild rub found at http://smokingunsbbq.com.

For a glaze, I use KC Masterpiece mixed with a dab of blackberry All-Fruit. For technique, I use the 3-2-1 method shown on this site.

Before I knew anything about rubs and layers of flavor etc I used to just put some salt and pepper on top of a layer of olive oil. Sprayed them with apple juice a few times and brushed them with a sweet store-bought sauce about 1/2 hour before finish.