Need Cooking Recommendations On This Combo

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

G

I'm planning on cooking the following things for serving sometime around noon on Sunday (gives me extra time if things aren't done when I tell them to):

11 lb. brisket (packer)
5.5 lb. pork butt
2 racks of pork back ribs

I know they are all going to have different cooking times (especially the ribs), but am looking for recommendations as to starting them all on at the same time (to get even smoke flavor) or stagger the start or just scrap some of the meat or whatever...I'm flexible. I figure I'll be doing an overnighter just because of the brisket. What should go on what rack? To foil or not to foil during cooking? Little tips like that...I've only cooked on my WSM once so far and that was 3 racks of ribs that turned out pretty good so I'm still new to this thing.

Thanks in advance,
Scott

Minion method, water in the pan, brisket on the bottom, fat side down. If your brisket is long enough to lay on the outer few inches of the rack, take some of the hard fat that you trimmed off and tuck it under the ends of the brisket - that will protect the ends from the direct heat coming up around the waterpan, but it won't block the smoke and cooking. Pork Butt on the top, fat side down, to baste the brisket. Either use a Brinkman charcoal pan for water, or top off your waterpan a time or so during the night, or you'll catch some quick temp spikes if you pan goes dry. You have a decent-sized brisket and a smallish butt (no offense intended
icon_wink.gif