My first Pork Butt

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave Cluck

TVWBB Fan
I'd planned on doing a chuck roll initially, but I've already got a good amount of this TexasBBQ Rub #1 left so I went with the butt instead. Here are a few images that I've taken so far. Right now it's in the fridge (slathered with mustard and #1 rub) until I start the cook later this evening.

Dave's 1st Pork Butt

More photos to come..

~Dave

Forgot that.. it's 9.93 lbs. Since I'm just starting out smoking I'm using hickory alone on my first cuts (when appropriate) so that I can get a baseline idea of what each wood has to offer. After that I'll switch/mix to see what it is that rows my boat.

~Dave

One last detail is that I'm using 2/3 kingsford and 1/3 lump - lump on top. Ran out of Kingsford and I'm too lazy to drag my butt back to the store for a 3rd time today.. I'll be starting this about 8 or 9 this evening.

~Dave

Dave, Nothing wrong with using lump. I use it 90 % of the time. Let us know how the cook goes. Good luck
icon_wink.gif
Bryan

I hear ya Bryan. I plan to make the move over to lump later when I grow up to be a competent Q'er. For now I'd like to get a feel for Kingsford for control comparison.

~Dave

Come on Bryan...lets here your CR pitch. You know you wanna.......whens the last time you did one? Better yet...whats the longest you've gone without smoking a CR? It's all good. Have never done one myself. Suppose I should give it a shot though.

Damn.. my ET-73 doesn't reach here upstairs. Time to set up my digital video camera to snap shots every 10 seconds.
icon_smile.gif

~Dave

You know it, Dale.
icon_wink.gif

And the real pup is doing fine waiting for me to start pulling the butt. After last week's brisket she knows what the WSM is for now.
icon_smile.gif

IMG_1253_web.jpg

~Dave

Dave,

Thats a nice looking but..........no not on the dog LOL...on da WSM. Man I'm bored....working weekends sucks.