Max Capacity of WSM?

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

I just came home with 60 lbs of pork butt from Sams. How much can I cook at one time? I've never done more than 2 butts at a time before, but I'm cooking for a bus trip to the Peach Bowl Friday and these fans love Mr. Brown.
I have a BBQ Guru and it makes it so easy to watch football (or sleep) and BBQ at the same time.
While this is my first post, I have been reading these boards for a while and I can't really express how much I've enjoyed reading everyone's posts. They have been both enlightening and entertaining. Thank you all!

Hi Jack, and 1st, welcome to the forum, 2nd congrats on your Guru! It will help you out here.

I've read where some people have put 3 Boston Butts on each shelf by setting them up on end giving you 6 butts per load. The guru will bring the temp back up and stabilize it much quicker than most can do manually. But, be carefull on placement of the pit temp probe ~ There have been reports that a large cold heat sink (3 butts) will fool the guru into false readings. I usually place mine half way between the meat and the edge of the grate (Remember that the heat rises along the sides of the WSM) so don't place too close to the edge either. Also, the forced air from the guru goes down under the coals and back up the other side. I wouldn't place the pit temp probe there either ~ maybe 90 degrees from there. And with the Guru forcing air in the WSM, the temp on the upper grate and lower grate are closer but still not the same. You may need to rotate the meat or just put the lighter butts on the bottom. I would monitor both levels with temp probes to make sure.

Now depending on the temp you cook these at, your total time for 2 loads will vary allot. You need to get started tonight!

Oh, and you will probably have to refuel during each cook with that much meat in there ~ Keep that in mind.