Lower Grill Question ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

John Vale

TVWBB Fan
I am cooking baby back ribs today. I have a rib rack for use on the upper grill surface. But it looks like I will not be able to fit all the ribs on the top cook surface. So, I will probably also have to use the lower grill. I don't have another rib rack which means I will have to lay the ribs flat on the lower grill. I plan to use the BRITU process, which suggests the ribs be turned over after 3 hours followed by 1-2 hours of additional smoking.

My question is, do I put the ribs meat side or bone side down for the first three hours.

I am fairly new at this and have never used the lower grill surface.

Thanks in advance for your help.

John
Marblehead, MA current outside temp is 48 degrees

John,
Have you considered rolling the ribs as illustrated in the cooking section of this forum? Take a look at this link (you'll have to scroll down a bit to see the rolls).
Rolled BRITU

Hi Phil:

I should have mentioned that I was only able to get ribs that had been pre-cut into half-rack lengths, so they are too short to roll. But thanks for the suggestion.

John

Ahhh, in that case, I think I'd be inclined to place them bones down (bone towards the grill). I wouldn't even turn them over at that point. You may consider foiling them for about an hour towards the end just to get the extra tenderness and then unfoiling the very last hour. Enjoy!

Rather than deal with the lower grill issue, I squeezed all of the ribs onto the top grill surface. In about 2 1/2 hours, we will find out if that was a wise decision.