How to smoke a fresh ham on WSM.

Willard USA

Greetings:
I am very new to the WSM. I am thinking about smoking a fresh ham this for brunch this coming Saturday and am in desperate need of some detailed cooking strategy and a good fresh ham recipe. If anyone knows a link to a good recipe with smoker setup and cook time information, I would greatly appreciate it. I did look at the ham information on this web site but it does not cover fresh ham.

I forgot to indicate in my previous posting that I am anticipating that my fresh ham will NOT be pre-smoked or cured. From reading other posts, I am assuming that the cook will be very similar to cooking a butt or a roast. I would like to smoke the ham with apple and cherry wood. Any thoughts on rubs, marinades, cook times, etc are greatly appreciated. Again, I am very new to the WSM so no detail is too minor to talk about.

The thread from Bryan's post leaves me confused about cook times, WSM cook temperatures, and meat temperatures (when is it done). Is it best to cook the fresh ham "low and slow" at a 250 degree lid temperature, or at 325 to 350 for a shorter cook time. How long will it take to cook the ham?

The WSM owner's manual lists fresh ham as being a roughly 8 hour cook time. There is also a pickled brine recipe in the WSM. However, the WSM owner's manual does not provide any temperature data. I was going to monitor the lid temperature through a lid vent hole. Any thoughts or comments on using the owner's manual recipe. I was thinking it might work good for me because I am new to the WSM. I have been using the Weber kettle for years, but recently decided to try the WSM.

Here is what I was thinking: Use the Minion method starting with a full ring of Kingsford. Smoke the ham with equal parts apple and cherry until the ham is half done. Line the water bowl with aluminum foil and fill to top with water.

Questions:
1. WSM lid temp for cooking the ham.