High temps = dry butt: What'd I do wrong?? (long)

Ron Hunter

TVWBB Member
I'm a newbie with the bullet. Had some problems and I'd appreciate your input.

This was my 2nd cook with the bullet. First was GREAT! - 2 chickens and one 8lb butt.

Below is a log of the 2nd cook. The biggest problem is getting the heat down. I've read a new cooker will cook at a higher temp but....

Also, I've checked for roundness. The bowl is round, the bottom of the middle section is off about 1/16th of an inch, the top within that range. The door is a snug fit. slight bend in lower third of door about 1/16th" Used the brinkman pan with almost 2 gallons of water.

1. Why the hot temps and inability to control?
2. one butt I took off read 200 on the bone side and 185 on the other. Bone side dry.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong??

LOG:
Start Date July 3, 2007
Started with 2 pork butts orig 12lb, defatted, and one slightly larger. Larger placed on top grate. Fired with minon method and apple and hickory chunks. % % %
Time Lid Temp Meat Temp Vent 1 Vent 2 Vent 3
11:20pm --- -- 100 100 100
11:35 220 -- 100 100 100
11:45 225 25 25 25
12:00 250 25 25 25
12:15am 265 25 25 25
12:30 300 0 0 25
12:50 275 0 25 25
1:10 280 0 0 25
4:10 255 0 0 25
6:30 280 0 0 25
7:30(t(b) 200 170-180 0 0 25 was 280 before turning pork butts
9:04 280 180-190 0 0 25
10:00 280 0 0 25(1)
10:20 270 --- 0 0 25(2)
11:33 260 185-200 0 0 25(3)
12:30 250 145 25 25 25(4)

(1) Added 2 - 4lb chickens (lower grate), smoke wood, 2 qts water tap warm, mover smaller butt to top grate with the larger
(2) took off larger butt, placed foil over remaining butt to reduce smoke
(3) Took off 2nd butt placed chicken on top add one piece of apple 1 inch sq.
(4) Took off chickens, temp in meaty part of breast was 145, joint 170. breast was pointed at center and I assumed it was cooked. When I pulled it – it was.

Thanks