Here is something different to chat about....question for the pro's

JimV

TVWBB All-Star
Hello all.....I am back for more knowledge. I will make this short and sweet. I was prepping a 335 for delivery and had only the cooking grates to finish up which in this case were stainless steel. Lately I feel the cooking grates are my least favorite part of a resto. Done right like all of you guys do it takes probably 40 min to and hour to go from filthy with a little bit of rust to fantastic and amazing. Anyway heat tends to speed up the grill grates clean up process and today ( here comes the question ) I decided to use one of my soon to be parts grills as my heat source. So I went to fire up the grill which I have no knowledge of its history......I hook the regulator up and fire up the beat up 335 Genesis.....she immediately comes to life flame thrower style! I immediately realized woops...homeowner just slapped a reg on a NG grill. Ehhh I thought.....heck I am not cooking on this thing why not use it to heat my grates but just use it on the low setting. Even on low the flames were dancing outside of the flavor bars but yet under control. So in the end this worked very well to get my grates cleaned and I even did two sets while I was in the mood. Ohhhh...the question? So I noticed black smoke coming from the rear of the flavor bars.....red flag.....Im like how the heck is black smoke appearing from propane running through a metal burner????? I mean it looked like I was burning plastic. I put a strong fan next to the grill to blow the smoke away from me because I knew it wasnt good.......yet I should have just cut the grill off and called it a day.
So let me see if I can get the answer correct. I it possible that a NG grill running on propane will not burn " clean " or " completely " thus this is why I saw black smoke? Just how toxic could that dirty burn be?
Thanks pro's