Help on meat question please (only my 2nd Smoke)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeH AZ

I am new to smoking and don't know a lot about "cuts" of meat (seen the chart and know where it comes from but not cooking changes) I was not planning far enough ahead and just got back from the store and they were out of "baby backs" so I ended up with "St. Louis" any cooking changes? Temp or time? any prep changes? Rub or triming? Have some "#1" rub I've heard so much about and going to try it in the A.M. for the first time (sure does make the cupboards smell great!) Also bought a Butt that I was going to use the same rub and put it on the bottom rack and put the ribs on top when its 5-6 hrs before dinner time so we can enjoy something that day (can i stack it like that?). We are doing the butt for sandwiches on Sunday....and Monday...and Tuesday LOL. I'm hopeing all u pros are up Q-ing like me and have some time to help the new-be. Thanx for your time.

Mike H, Here this might help youRib Styles #1 rub is great for both of them. Butt on the bottom till ribs are done. Them move up to top rack. Easier to get to and tend to.
icon_wink.gif

Thanx soooo much Brian, but I just red your responce to Duncan...Did I just ruin my ribs if I just put on the rub and will start cooking around 11am in the morn.?
icon_eek.gif

You have 2 choices wash it off or leave it. But first what rub did you use. Look for sodium nitrate in the ingredients.Please respond.
I used to put the rub on everything the night before, i no longer do that. Just my preference.
1-2 hours before is fine. Or 3 minutes if using the Texas BBQ rub
icon_biggrin.gif
Even if using Head Country Rub i put it on 1-2 hours before, i feel i get a better end product. Bryan

I used the #1...Also VERY sorry I got your name wrong. Your name was only right in frount of me.(thats why I missed it
icon_biggrin.gif