HELP FINDING WOOD CHUNKS

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to this and would appreciate some help on finding chunk wood like cherry and apple,any ideas? I'm getting my first Weber Bullet tomorrow and could also use a nice easy first timer recipe and cooking instructions for ribs. I have to say that this board seems like it's really going to come in handy for me. Everyone seems super cool and very helpful, keep it up Thanks, Bob /infopop/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Hi Bob and Welcome !

I have had good luck finding wood at local orchards, close to where I live. Since you're also in New England, there are probably apple orchards around your area.

The wood pretty much grows on trees there /infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif , and I have found that they are more than happy to give it away, rather than disposing of it themselves. Last spring I took home two good size logs from an apple tree that was cut down, and they will probably last for another year. My only advice for a beginner is to limit the amount of smoke wood you use until you get the hang of it. You really don't need that much wood to get a good flavor.

You're right about this board, it is a great resource, and a friendly place to learn about the WSM and smoking. Enjoy !

Welcome Bob. Hey, this is the all New England topic. /infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

I've been getting my chunk wood at the Woodstove Shop in Littleton. They have different varieties in bags in a storage shed outside. You can buy it by the piece or pound if you want to try different ones. When I got my WSM there they had no apple or cherry in stock. I called a week or so ago and still none. Almost 8 weeks! /infopop/emoticons/icon_mad.gif