flavored water redeux

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chet Johnson

TVWBB Super Fan
I'm 80% convinced to shift to sand to reduce the margin of error. Lord knows, I need plenty of margin for error.

A friend of mine insists that the addition of aromatics (celery, onion, tiny touch of garlic, etc...) to the water makes a significant difference to the flavor of his smokes. I'm new at this and am reluctant to publicly ridicule him with my expertise (he is a friend after all).

Has anyone attempted adding such aromatics to a water pan smoke? Maybe for poultry and shorter cooks? Maybe for whitefish and even shorter cooks?

Chet

If you remember the old science experiment of dissolving salt in water, and then boiling away the water, the end result being salt left in the pan. You could think of the vegetables the same way, i.e. salt water in the pan is not going to give you salty meat.

Aromatics in the cavity of a turkey are one thing-- and I'll even go so far as to extend that to the contents of a beer can for beer butt chicken because of its intimate proximity to the bird-- but, in the water pan of a smoker, it's just a waste of good vegetables. You're better off making a nice stock out of them.

I don't want to disagree with a wizard. If I recall my mythology right, it could lead to really bad things. But....

When I boil salt water, there is no aroma. The mineral salt remains in solution. However, when I cook up a vegetable stock, there is a LOT of aroma. It is not the same experiment.

Have you tried it? If no-one has, I will try it eventually. I was wondering if someone had given it a go and determined that it was a waste or discovered another way to add flavor.

Chet