First WSM Cook - Easy Does It!

Tony Hunter

TVWBB Pro
Ok y'all, I did my first cook on my new WSM. My wife and brutally-honest kids said it was the best I have EVER done!
icon_biggrin.gif
I created my own special rub (very spicey) and a special sauce (sweet) to create my Sweet-N-Spicy Ribs and Chicken.

I took pics of the prep but my camera hosed them. I did get a couple of pics of the finished product though they are not very good. I have to get a new camera - pronto! Anyway, I am posting what I have right now.

I cooked a slab of BB ribs using 3-2-1 and I did about 12 chicken thighs. I wanted to go easy since I was using a brand new cooker and since I have never used a WSM before. The WSM is... well... simply a SWEET cooker! It was everything it has been touted to be. I got my coals on using MM, put my meat on, inserted an Accu-Rite digital through the top vent and the rest was a (pardon the mixed metaphors) piece of cake! This thing almost needs no tending to. Just watch the temps and adjust the vents if needed and you will get hours of steady 220-225 without adding fuel or water! I did add some wood half way through because I was using apple chips and the chips burn up fairly quick. Next time, I will buy chunks instead. The ribs passed the tear-test with flying colors and they tasted awesome! I will; however, tone the spicy-ness down a bit next time, but I am playing with all kinds of rub combinations. The sauce is great too but I have plenty of it left. Usually, my family douses my ribs and chicken with sauce (probably to make it edible), but this time, they said to heck with the sauce - they did not want any!
icon_biggrin.gif
Too bad though, that was a good batch of sauce, but I am honored that they thought the meat was good enough without it! Overall, I think it could have been way better. I am pleased but not satisfied by a long shot. I have lots of work to do.